RQ’s Board Confirmed by Minister

Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing andMinister for Multicultural Affairs
The Honourable Stirling Hinchliffe – Media Release Sunday 28/4/2019

Racing Queensland Board to continue racing reform agenda Implementing the Palaszczuk Government’s racing reform agenda will continue to be the focus of the Racing Queensland board, which includes at least one new face from 1 May.

Racing Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the RQ Board would combine experience and continuity with fresh talent.

“Queensland racing is entering an exciting new era as the government presses ahead with a reform agenda to create a more commercially focused industry,” he said.
“RQ’s new-look board will implement a series of new reforms to build on the integrity, prize money and country racingreforms we’ve already implemented.

“Five of the seven board members will continue their roles, including Chair Steve Wilson who has shown strong leadership during his three years in the role. “The board will also include fresh new talent, including corporate and commercial lawyer Jane Seawright, who joins RQ as a non-industry board member. “Her strong skills in law, governance, strategy and strategic relationship management will be great assets for RQ, along
with her strong links to North Queensland. “In coming weeks a new thoroughbred representative will be appointed, as we move to fill a vacancy following the
departure of Mark Sowerby. “I want to pay tribute to Mark Sowerby and fellow outgoing RQ board member Susannah George for their contributions to Queensland racing.
“Both have served RQ well and helped to steer Queensland racing on a path for greater growth and prosperity.”

Racing Queensland Board appointments (effective from 1 May):

  • Mr Steve Wilson AM (Chairperson) for a term of three years;
  • Ms Sharon Dawson (Deputy Chairperson) and non-industry member for a period of two years;
  • Mr Max Walters OAM (non-industry member) for a period of two years;
  • Ms Jane Seawright (non-industry member) for a period of three years;
  • Mr Dale Cartwright (greyhound representative) for a period of two years; and
  • Ms Margaret Reynolds (harness representative) for a period of two years.
  • Mr Hinchliffe said Queensland Racing Integrity Commissioner Ross Barnett had also been appointed for a new threeyear term, effective 1 July.

“Under Ross Barnett’s leadership, QRIC has been at the forefront of implementing integrity reform in Queensland racing, he said. “The Palaszczuk Government will continue to seek stronger animal welfare and integrity measures in racing and will work
with QRIC to achieve this.”

Media contact: Martin Philip 0427 919 548

Racing Queensland Board to continue racing reform agenda – The Queensland Cabinet and Ministerial Directory

3 thoughts on “RQ’s Board Confirmed by Minister

  1. Elbert Einstein is credited with the following quote ” The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again , but expecting different results “

  2. i agree with kevin ellis & why is qric not implementing the mc sporran recos after the live baiting in regards to the box draw?

Leave a Reply